Dallas Alumni Gathering Welcomes DVULI Staff

Posted by: DVULI | April 30, 2024

By Kimberlee Mitchell, Staff


In April, the entire DVULI team met with Dallas alumni in Fort Worth, Texas, for a rare opportunity to connect face-to-face at the alumni gathering. In a charming rustic barn, staff and local alumni reconnected over authentic Texas barbecue and heartfelt fellowship.   

Tara Bollinger-Oksuzler (Dallas 2019) presented her testimony highlighting how she has achieved breakthrough in her personal life and ministry, and the collaborative work she’s engaged in with fellow DVULI graduates across the nation.   

Team DVULI in downtown Fort Worth pictured left to right: Kimberlee Mitchell, Katie Van Timmeren, Stephanie Donovan, Ron Carter, Gerald Bell, Rodrigo Ortiz, Carlo Daniels, Shannon Pothoven, Eileen Kooreman, and Jason Zylstra.

Eileen Kooreman planned a team-building activity where a facilitator challenged everyone to communicate using Legos in an innovative strategy and communication session. Next, she surprised the crew with a laughter-filled evening in Cowtown on a party bike—and, of course, more barbecue!   

The time together strengthened the team as they prepare to launch the program redesign for DVULI participants in 2025 and settle into the reorganization of staff leadership upon Eileen’s upcoming retirement on May 31.   

They say everything is bigger in Texas, and this time together reflected just that—big connection, big love, and big vision. All for His glory! 


Header Photo Caption: DVULI Staff & Dallas Alumni Gathering. Pictured in the front row left to right: VJ Smith (Twin Cities 2006), Shannon Pothoven (staff), Kimberlee Mitchell (staff), Oscar Benavides (Dallas 2009), Eileen Kooreman (staff), and Loinel Fleming (Kansas City 2003). Second row: Ruth Castillo (Dallas 2015), Rodrigo Ortiz (staff), and Amy Rodriguez (Dallas 2019). Third row: Sam Lara (Dallas 2009), Stephanie Donovan (staff), Jamie Caldwell-Duran (Dallas 2019), and Ron Carter (staff).  Fourth row: Luis Palomo (Dallas 2019), Gerald Bell (staff), and Tara Bollinger-Oksuzler (Dallas 2019). Back row: Kenneth Johnson (Dallas 2015), Katie Van Timmeren (staff), and Carlo Daniels (staff). Not pictured alumni in attendance included June Evans (Dallas 2009) and Randy Wright (Detroit 2011).